Christian Creative Writers

A FREE CHRISTIAN WRITERS' FORUM

HomeHome  PortalPortal  PublicationsPublications  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  SpotlightSpotlight  JesusJesus  
NO REGISTRATION**FEEL FREE TO COMMENT AS A GUEST**NO REGISTRATION**POST YOUR POETRY OR STORIES AS A GUEST**NO REGISTRATION**WRITERS RESOURCES**NO REGISTRATION**CHRISTIAN DISCUSSION**NO REGISTRATION**GREAT WRITING TIPS**

Such a Time as This by Ron Estrada

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lora
SITE ADMINISTRATOR
SITE ADMINISTRATOR
Lora

Such a Time as This by Ron Estrada Empty
PostSuch a Time as This by Ron Estrada

Such a Time as This
July 24, 2013 by Ron Leave a Comment
Such a Time as This by Ron Estrada Image1-300x225
I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately (dangerous, I know). I find myself wondering what exactly it is I’m supposed to be doing with the time God has given me on this planet. I am a writer, despite my best efforts to claim a title attached to a more profitable lifestyle. Yes, my degree says “engineer” and that’s how I’ve made my living, but I’m one of the 85% of Americans who’ve realized that they’ve made a wrong turn somewhere.
Don’t get me wrong. I’ve made a good life from my career and do a pretty good job, but if I often find myself wishing I’d tried a little harder (or at all) to make a go of professional writing early in my life. Hey, if I sucked at it, I would have had plenty of time to change majors.
As a Christian, I do believe that God has given me this gift–the love of writing and maybe even a smidgen of talent. He doesn’t hand out gifts and callings without a purpose. And I reckon He really isn’t interested in my ability to make a living with my calling, so long as I use it for His glory.